ASU recognized for prestigious student scholars

Via ASU Now

Arizona State University was recognized alongside the elite league of Harvard, Stanford, and the University of Chicago as one of the only institutions to have Rhodes, Marshall, and Churchill scholarship winners. In addition to being named as the most innovative university in the nation for the second year in a row, ASU has maintained their position as a top producer of both faculty and student Fulbright scholars, with six faculty members and 15 students currently in the U.S. government’s flagship International exchange program.

Marshall Scholarship winner Erin Schulte is now the 18th student from ASU to receive the honor. Ngoni Mugwisi, who is this year’s Rhodes Scholar, is the first student from ASU to be honored with the title since 2001, while Christopher Balzer is the university’s first student to ever become the Churchill Scholar. All three students, who are on track to graduate from Arizona State University’s Honor College in May, are among only 25% of American winners who are from public institutions like ASU. 

“It’s a really potent and clear statement about our breadth and the excellence of our programs that students with such different backgrounds and goals can demonstrate not just at a national but at a global level their competence and vision,” said Kyle Mox, director of the Lorraine W. Frank Office of National Scholarships Advisement at ASU and associate dean of Barrett, The Honors College.

ASU is ranked 6th in the nation, alongside Cornell, George, Texas, Washington, and Western Michigan, for faculty awards, and 11th in the nation for student awards, among Boston College, Cornell, Northwestern, Louisville, and Maryland. ASU’s Provost’s Office looks forward to working with students in the future, to help prepare them for each scholarship’s application process. 

< Previous article Next article >

Request Information

To learn more about ASU Online or a specific program, fill out the form below and check your email for information on next steps.